Hope Restored

Technical training last night was fantastic. The vibe from having all twelve of us in one place was energizing. Everyone was excited, nervous, and struggling to get the damn wraps on. Well maybe not everyone,  those few who knew how were helping those of us who can’t quite get it.  Having the group together reminded me that everyone is starting from scratch and that is ok to hurt after the first few workouts.  A few of us discussed what hurt the most. Abs seem to be the common theme.  I admitted that I had to use two hands to put my car in reverse.  We laughed – sort of – because real laughing hurts too much right now.

So along with the camaraderie we also got to check out our potential opponents.  It is going to be a bit weird having to take a swing at one of them.  Learning the moves and hitting the bag are great but at some point there is going to be a person at the end of my glove. I’m not quite sure how I feel about that.  When I signed up I oddly enough didn’t think about hitting someone, just about being hit.  But I LOVE hitting the bag. I may have to get one of those for the basement.

And so ends week 1.  I survived.  I hurt. But I’m ready to learn more.

Now it’s time to tackle a different challenge – the hill from Dauphin to Wasagaming and back in the MS Riding Mountain Challenge bike tour.  150 km in two days.  The trainers suggested I bring my skipping rope. Ha-ha-ha … no thank-you.

Mekong delta, Vietnam – no hills there!

Leave a Reply

