Skipping

Three weeks ago I used to dread the start of class with the 10 minute skipping for a “warm up”. How can something I loved as a kid have turned so evil? And Skip-o-thons? How was that even possible?  My calves and hands would burn after a few minutes.  My first goal was to get through 10 minutes without stopping. That and at least one full bodied push-up.  Well other than tripping over the rope, I think I’m there. I’m even starting to remember the tricks we did with the ropes in junior high. I likely won’t be starting a double dutch club in the gym anytime soon but I’m coming around to this skipping thing.  I could do without the 150 push-ups we do as a “break” from skipping though. Getting stronger, hurting less. But then again, sparring hasn’t started.

Leave a Reply

