Toilets + Entrepreneur + iDE = Success

Since I’ve been spending a little quiet time with my ice packs on the couch I’ve been able to catch up on some reading.  I love this story.  It demonstrates the brilliance of the iDE approach to poverty.

http://makingsanitationeasy.wordpress.com/2012/06/28/latrine-business-owner-bun-phors-succeeding-against-the-odds/

This a fantastic example of  “teaching a man or woman to fish” as a way to tackle a global problem.   Nearly 3 billion people (3 BILLION) live on $2 a day. Using simple, smart, affordable technologies and teaching some basic business skills can turn struggling families into successful entrepreneurial ventures.  What’s not to love about that?

The founder, Paul Polak, introduced the idea of using business to alleviate poverty.  He has a new book coming out soon called The Business Solution to Poverty: Designing Products and Services for Three Billion New Customers.  I’ll be putting that on my Christmas list in prep for my trip back to Vietnam in March where I’ll be teaching entrepreneurship in Ban Phuc.

http://www.paulpolak.com/the-business-solution-to-poverty/

Less than two weeks to go. I stopped by the gym last night to try on my uniform. Wow – any ideas that we’ll look like fit, strong women in these things have gone straight out the window. We will be shapeless, androgynous, boxers with ponytails (possibly with great manicures).  Hoping to be back in the ring on Saturday.  Now off to physio…

Leave a Reply

