Thank-you!!

Thank-you hardly seems adequate for the gratitude I have for all the people who have participated in The Clean Fight journey.

LindsayIt has been an intense 12 weeks. This Thursday I will face Lindsay “The Knock Out” Lecker  in a memorable  “Rockin’ the Ring” match.  We will start our epic battle with her french braiding my hair – as so many bouts start I’m sure. No joke – she’s an award-winning hairdresser at Uppercuts Hair Studio. She’s a tough girl and a hard worker so it should be a great match.

As I sit here with my heating packs recovering from my last sparring session with Coach Steve, I have some time to think about everything that has happened over the past 3 months.  There are a lot of people who made this happen so here goes an Oscar worthy thank-you speech (minus the wrap-up music).

To my donors: Thank-you so much for believing I would be ready for my match and helping me get there with your contribution.  You helped me raise $6,665 for iDE Canada to undertake great work around the world – not by giving hand-outs, but by teaching people a more efficient, effective way to farm in their area. They listen to what people need and react by helping with region appropriate business opportunities. Since people can’t work if they are sick , iDE is working to improve sanitation. Here is an older article but it demonstrates how your donation will improve so many lives.

http://www.ide-canada.org/index.php/news/ide-in-the-news/ides-sanitation-marketing-project-reaches-10000-latrines-mark2

To ITC Boxing Fitness: I really don’t even know where to start. You volunteered to take on a daunting project; getting fourteen boxing newbies safely to the ring.  The hours you put in far exceeded ours, the number of hits the coaches took paled in comparison to what we received,  your enthusiasm and determination was inspirational. You are awesome people and I’m so happy I’ve had this opportunity to experience the sport you love through your eyes. Plus thanks to you I have new muscles, which is super cool, I’m 13 lbs lighter, and I have an appreciation for the sport of boxing.  Thank-you for that and for an unforgettable experience.

And Mark – once this is over I will gladly have my butt kicked in the ring by you. I’m sure that is the least I can do to repay the countless hours you’ve spent with us.  Steve – I never want to be on the receiving end of one of your hits again.  Sarah – I love watching you box. I could also do without receiving another hit from you, especially to the gut.  Both of you were fabulous sparring partners. Patrick – you and that pool noodle finally got me to stop tripping over my own feet. You are a fantastic teacher. Thank-you for answering my endless questions.  Sheila – you just rock. I don’t even have enough words to describe your awesomeness and hard work.

Anyone who wants to try a workout worthy of stepping out into a blustery Manitoba winter, get your bodies down to http://www.inthiscorner.ca.  Maureen will introduce you to muscles you didn’t even know existed. And you will thank her for it…eventually.

To my Cheering Section: Thank-you for listening to my journey and tolerating the non-stop commentary about the experience and requests for donations.  You’ve encouraged me along the journey, made me laugh, and kept me going.  With so many eyes watching there was NO WAY I was going to give up.

To Bill Pratt, Exec, Director, iDE Canada:  Thanks for coming up with this wild idea and for being one of our biggest fans. You have introduced us to the wonderful things iDE Canada and iDE International is undertaking throughout the world.  We wouldn’t have had this experience without your initiative.  I’m looking forward to hearing more about the great work your organization accomplishes in the future.

To my Team Mates:  What an amazing group of women!  You have juggled jobs, families, illnesses, injuries, and countless other activities throughout this journey.  We’ve cheered each other on in the ring, fist bumped when we survived a round in the ring, and commiserated at many tough spots – especially the knocks to the head.  Boxing may be a solo sport but we work as a great team.  I’m sure we will cheer each other on even if we are swinging at each other.  I can’t wait to see everyone in the ring. You ladies look amazing.

To my fabulous husband Peter: Thank-you for your support and encouragement. I know you were anxious about me getting hit and still have your doubts, but you have supported me 100% in this journey. You’ve picked me up when I thought I couldn’t face another push-up, you supported my alcohol abstinence (most of the time), and you’ve carried the home front while I was training. Thank-you for being in my corner – now and always. You are the best! XO

Stay tuned. Fight night is in 4 days.  I will post the results, pictures and videos as soon as I can type again (just joking…sort of).

clean fight  web copy

Leave a Reply

